Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Introducing the 2018 Bush Fellows

March 20, 2018
2018 Bush Fellows
We're pleased to introduce the recipients of the 2018 Bush Fellowship, a group of 24 determined, adaptable leaders who are driven to improve their communities in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geography.
Bush Fellows receive up to $100,000 to pursue the education and experiences they need to become more effective, agile leaders.
“The 2018 Bush Fellows are exceptional leaders who have made the most of the opportunities in their lives,” says Bush Foundation Leadership Programs Director Anita Patel. “We believe the well-being of our region is directly impacted by investing in individuals who will shape the future. We are betting on the potential of these 24 Fellows to make a significant impact in their communities.”
The Fellowship is distinctive in its flexibility, allowing Fellows to create leadership development plans tailored to their needs and ambitions. Fellows can use the funding to pursue advanced education, networking opportunities, and leadership resources, workshops and trainings.
The Foundation received 751 applications for the 2018 Bush Fellowship. Applicants described their leadership vision and passion and how a Bush Fellowship would help them achieve their goals. They were selected through a multi-stage process involving past Bush Fellows, Bush Foundation staff and established regional leaders.
More than 2,300 people have taken advantage of the Fellowship to become better leaders through a self-designed learning experience, academic program, or travel and research across the country to build connections with thought leaders on topics critical to their community. The Bush Fellowship counts among its alumni playwright August Wilson, Oglala Lakota painter and educator Arthur Douglas Amiotte, former Minnesota Governor Arne Carlson, author and storyteller Kevin Kling, South Dakota poet laureate Lee Ann Roripaugh, Minneapolis City Council Member Andrea Jenkins, and former special assistant to President Obama for Native American affairs Jodi Gillette.
The Bush Foundation will accept applications for the 2019 Bush Fellowship beginning August 7, 2018. The Bush Fellowship is open to anyone age 24 years and older who lives in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota or one of the 23 Native nations that shares the same geography.
2018 Bush Fellows

News Archive